Carpe Diem!

 

Tom and Jory

Tommy & Jory

Driving home from work tonight, I deviated from my planned “to do” list and on the spur of the moment dropped in to see my brother.

Nothing special was planned; no agenda, just a quick visit, a fast hello, and then I would be on my way.

I soon threw my scheduled evening out the window… this evening wasn’t about my list.

While I was sitting with him, talking to him and listening to what made his day a good day all of the things I “had”to do became unimportant.

One thing lead to another, and pretty soon we were in the kitchen together- him cooking, me watching.

I can’t tell you how glad I am that I stayed… it wasn’t about the food, it wasn’t even about the conversation, it was about being in the kitchen with my brother, and watching him cook a steak the same way my dad used to.  It was about listening to him give cooking advice to his grandson. It was about listening to him and Mary laugh.

It was about being present. It was about the magic in the moment on an ordinary Monday.

There are many things being part of a big family is,  and some things being part of a big family isn’t, as in, it isn’t always convenient to be, do, listen, be present, and take advantage of the small moments.

In this crazy busy world where everything has a deadline, time has a way of slipping away for many reasons.

So, just for a minute, stop for a bit, unplug, take a look around, notice the little things,  un-plan your plan, you will be surprised what can happen on an ordinary Monday.

I love you Tommy, thank you for a great evening!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Carpe Diem!

  1. Steve says:

    I love this girl so much!

Leave a Reply

